top of page



There are special experiences in our life as Orthodox Christians when the perception of God’s presence and actions are heightened and celebrated. These events are the Church Sacraments. Traditionally, the Sacraments have been known as Holy Mysteries in the Orthodox Church. 

The Sacraments of the Orthodox Church are composed of prayers, hymns, scripture lessons, gestures and processions. Many parts of the services date back to the time of the Apostles. This description emphasizes that in these special events of the Church, God discloses Himself through the prayers and actions of His people.

The Orthodox Church has never formally determined a particular number of Sacraments.  In addition to the major Sacraments, which are listed below, there are many other Blessings and Special Services which reflect the Church’s presence throughout the lives of her people, including the Funeral Service, Memorial Service, and Great Blessing of the Water.


Major Orthodox Sacraments


  • Eucharist 

  • Baptism

  • Chrismation (Confirmation in the Orthodox Faith)

  • Confession

  • Marriage

  • Holy Orders (Ordination)

  • Annointing of the Sick (Holy Unction)

bottom of page